Disaster Area Guidelines

The Department of Education mandates that all borrowers living, working, or attending school in a federally declared disaster area are entitled to a three-month forbearance upon request. The borrower does not have to make the request in writing and does not need to submit any documentation. The three-month period counts against the three-year maximum benefit.

Go to http://www.fema.gov/disasters. in order to determine which states/counties have been designated disaster areas,

For further information, contact the Student Loan Office, using the information listed below.

For bank loans, please contact the lender that provided you with a loan for its policies about disaster assistance.

Forms and questions should be directed to:

The University of Wisconsin - Madison
Bursar's Office - Student Loans
333 East Campus Mall #10501
Madison, WI 53715-1383
Phone: 608-262-1791 (Open until 4:30 PM)
Fax: 608-265-3201

Customer Service Window hours:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday: 9:15 AM to 4:00 PM